Presented annually, the Earl V. Moore Awards are given to the top graduates in music, theatre, and dance. The five awards are named for Earl Vincent Moore, who came to what was then the University of Michigan School of Music as a freshman in 1908, joined our faculty in 1912, and served first as Director and then as our first Dean from 1923 until 1960. There are five Moore Award recipients each year: two in music and one each in dance, musical theatre, and theatre.

Marty Flake
Bachelor of Fine Arts
Theatre & Drama; Design & Production

Caroline Glazier
Bachelor of Fine Arts
Musical Theatre

Xiaoya Liu
Doctor of Musical Arts
Performance; Piano
Master of Music
Chamber Music

Walter Puyear
Master of Music
Performance; Saxophone

Courtney Ziegelmeyer
Bachelor of Fine Arts


The award is presented annually to a graduating student who has used their talents and scholarly abilities to enhance the development of, and appreciation for, a more culturally and ethnically diverse community at the School of Music, Theatre & Dance. Willis Patterson is a two-time alumnus of SMTD, a Professor Emeritus of Voice, and served as Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies and Minority Affairs for 20 years prior to his retirement in 1999. As a performing artist, educator, and university administrator, Dean Patterson has championed the ideals of diversity and inclusion throughout his career.

Malhar Kute
Bachelor of Music
Performance; Violin


The Albert A. Stanley Medal is the highest honor awarded by the School of Music, Theatre & Dance. It commemorates the long and distinguished service of Albert A. Stanley, who served as the first Director of what was the School of Music from 1888 to 1921. This award is given each year to the graduating senior who, during the past two years, has been most outstanding in their curriculum, with special consideration given to scholarship and public performance.

Salvador Flores
Bachelor of Music
Performance; Saxophone